2023 Special Bylaws Election Results


Results: 1,127 (89%) Yes, 134 (11%) No

Proposed change needed 67% to pass; motion passes.

We want to thank everyone for making their voice heard and taking the time to vote in this year’s election. We had a large turnout this year with 1,261 members casting ballots. We are encouraged that more than 52% of members who voted feel that we are proceeding in the right direction with this change.

Board of Directors

The Mazama Board of Directors is comprised of nine to 13 members, each serving three year terms. Each year members vote for three new members, and three members finish their terms. 

2023 Election Dates:

  • Opens: September 1, 2023 at 9 a.m.
  • Ends: October 2, 2023 at 3 p.m.

In the Mazama election cycle, members vote on three new Board of Directors members. Current Mazama members are eligible to vote in the election. Your membership must be current as of September 1 of the voting year in order to be eligible to vote.

Nominating Committee

The role of the Nominating Committee is to seek out and vet candidates for the Board of Directors. The Committee is comprised of nine members who serve three year terms.

Voting Procedures

  • E–Voting: All Mazama members  who have an email address on file with the Mazamas AND who did not Opt-Out of E-voting for the Mazama Annual Election, will receive an email to vote in the election on September 3. This email will include directions on how to vote, including a username and password. You will click on this link to make your election choices. Once you have confirmed your selections you cannot change your vote. You must utilize this voting link by Oct. 3 at 3 p.m. No votes can be accepted after that time in our online system.
  • Vote by Mail: All Mazama members who Opt-Out of E-voting or who do not have an email address on file with the Mazamas will receive a paper ballot by standard USPS mail. This ballot will arrive around September 3, and will include a voter pamphlet, ballot, and return envelope. Make your election choices, put your ballot in the return envelope, place a stamp on the envelope, and drop it in the mail. Paper ballots must be received by Oct. 3 at 3 p.m. to be counted.  We recommend mailing your ballot by September 22, 2022 to ensure on time delivery. You may also drop your ballot through the mail slot at the MMC. Ballots received after that time cannot be accepted.